Broiled Salmon and Blue Cheese Sweet Potatoes

Salmon, I LOVE salmon, although I’ve only been eating it for around three or four years, but I really super-duper love it.  My first time eating it was a restaurant near Holy Hill, The Fox and Hound.  Seafood stuffed salmon with a dill cream sauce and asparagus.  I pretty successfully replicated the recipe (minus seafood stuffing) and that’s how we’ve been eating it for quite a while. Unfortunately the creamy dill sauce and butter that we cook it in did not really fit in our lean eating category so I had to try a new way to cook it.

Again, I went to Pinterest to see what other people had done, and bada bing: this recipe.  So I decided to give it a try.  My sides were  mashed mandarin sweet potatoes with blue cheese and garlicky wilted spinach.

THIS WAS AWESOME (although, I digress, the brown sugar and the blue cheese were not on the lean eating spectrum….I really couldn’t do without them. You can’t sacrifice ALL the fatty things of this world—or at least I can’t).

These horrible pictures pain me terribly since I do moonlight as a photographer…but I’m just too lazy to cook, AND bother with my clunky camera. So iPhone photos will have to do for now.

Mandarin Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Blue Cheese (I made this recipe up and it serves about 3 people).

2 baked sweet potatoes (the other day when I crock-pot baked the sweet potatoes I made two extra because I knew we’d be eating them on Friday night).
1 egg
Cinnamon
1 small pinch cloves
handful dried cranberries
handful dried walnuts broken into small pieces
crumbled blue cheese (maybe ¼ cup?)
can of mandarin oranges with the juice
salt

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mash your cooled sweet potatoes and whip in one egg until thoroughly combined. Add your spices.
  3. Toss in 7-10 mandarin orange sections and mash with a fork, add a couple of teaspoons of the juice (if you so desire). Toss in your cranberries and some of your blue cheese.
  4. Place in baking dish. Top with blue cheese and walnut pieces.
  5. Bake until edges are browning and bubbly and cheese is melting (half an hour?)

Garlic Mandarin Wilted Spinach (again, from my own head).

1 bag pre-washed spinach
1 tsp olive oil (I ran out of regular oil and got stuck using my lemon olive oil which actually ended up being quite yummy).
1 clove mashed garlic
salt
pepper
2 tsp mandarin orange juice
splash of vinegar

  1. Heat pan on medium heat with oil and garlic
  2. When oil is nice and hot, toss in spinach, orange juice, vinegar, salt and pepper.
  3. Constantly flipping and tossing spinach, cook for around 2 minutes.
  4. Remove from pan with tongs (to better drain them) and immediately put on plates.

Sweet and spicey salmon recipe ( adapted from HowSweetEats.Com)

Fresh salmon (I used ¾ lb for Joe and I and took the skin off)
Liquid Smoke
olive oil
dry seasoning rub : brown sugar, paprika, garlic salt, fresh ground pepper, crushed red pepper (I didn’t measure, I just added it together until it looked right).

  1. Turn your broiler on high and place the rack in the lower-middle of the oven.
  2. Prep your salmon and put onto slightly olive-oiled pan
  3. Rub ½ tsp liquid smoke on top side of salmon, then rub dry rub on top of salmon. (The more rub the merrier, it gets nice and caramelized with extra on top).
  4. Place salmon in oven and watch it like a hawk! (rule of thumb for salmon broiling is 10 minutes for every inch of salmon….but keep your eyes on it).
  5. Take it out of the oven and drool…but not ON the salmon
  6. Turn off your broiler…otherwise the fan kicks on and you wander around wondering what that noise is only to panic when you see smoke coming from your over-heated 40 year old oven *woops*

Notes on this meal:

Cook the sweet potatoes right before starting the oven to broil for the fish (letting the sweet potatoes broil for a minute or two makes a nice melty-crispy topping; but don’t let them sit in there too long or your walnuts burn….or so I’m told), set aside and cover with lid or foil until ready to serve.
As far as the spinach goes, DO NOT start cooking it until your salmon has one minute to go in the oven…or you will end up with a sad, mushy mess and have to start over (again, I don’t know aaanything about that.)

Leave a Reply

